New: In Memoriam Pages.

Your correspondent blogs today from The Passions of Patriots, the eponymous site of her current work-in-progress. All readers of the Irish Firebrands family of blogs are invited to memorialize individuals who served in the First World War, by submitting names, photos and details of service (combat or otherwise) for publication on the blog’s “In Memoriam” pages. Grampa Jim (whose 120th birthday is today) has been enlisted. Can we recruit a platoon of comrades for him?

The Passions of Patriots: A Novel ~ Christine Plouvier, Indie Author

Wreath_of_FlowersSee the menu, above, for a section of the blog where participants in the Great War are remembered. As a non-combat veteran, I feel that we who have not experienced warfare first-hand can never say “Thank you!” enough to those who endured it.

ContactForm is available to submit information about a person you would like to honor there. The required minimum information about an honoree is a name (if all you have is the first initial and surname, that’s okay). You will also need to identify yourself as the submitter, but this can be a descriptive identifier. Please use only the Contact Form to submit an honoree (not a comment form at another post or page).

Because participants who met with physical or psychological harm as a consequence of the war were not always soldiers, this memorial also welcomes any who served their countries during the war, whether or not their duties involved bearing arms; however, honorees do

View original post 102 more words

8 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Uncategorized

8 responses to “New: In Memoriam Pages.

  1. Aww, what a sweet thing to do! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. As long as I’ve got blog space that’s not being used, I’d love to share it in some meaningful way. But so far, no takers.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Really? I suppose not many people have photos of loved ones as far back as The Great War. I bet if your book was set in WWII, you’d have more takers.

        Liked by 1 person

        • You may be right about that. But once I started research on the book, I was amazed at the volume of photographs dating from the turn of the 20th century. That was when the smaller box cameras were developed, and like today’s techno-geeks, everybody had to have one. The armies on both sides of the barbed wire found that they had to regulate when and where individual soldiers were permitted to carry and use personal cameras.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Those box cameras had 8 photos per film, and had to be sent to Kodak in NY to develop. The cameras were cheap, but the film was costly in comparison. Do you folllow G.P., Cox? He might have some good leads for you: https://pacificparatrooper.wordpress.com/author/gpcox/

            Liked by 1 person

            • Photos would be nice, but they’re not necessary, to put an entry on the page, and no nationality is excluded. But despite the Centenary interest, apparently my blog doesn’t get close enough to the top of searches, so my readership is very small, and, like you say, “my” war still isn’t quite as popular as “the big one.” I did talk to Mr. Cox quite some time ago, but at the time he didn’t have any leads (understandable, since it’s not “his” war), although I see that he did post something about the ANZAC centenary.

              Doughboys might have had Kodaks (if permitted), but offhand, I can’t say what brand that Tommies and the French poilus could have carried. Certainly the Germans would have dealt with manufacturers in their own country, and because at that time Zeiss optical was also the biggest camera manufacturer in the world, they’re a likely suspect. The British were strict about having cameras in the trenches, and soldiers could be punished for it. The German Army was more lenient about individuals taking pictures. I don’t know about French or U. S. policy, but I’m not dealing with those armies, in my novel.

              Liked by 1 person

              • I commend you for your research. 🙂 I admit, I’ve only ever looked up camera history in America, and wasn’t even thinking about the rest of the world. In my studio where I sign up brides, I have a “history of photography museum” (corner) where I display wedding photos from as early as the 1850s, the point being to show that long after the people have gone, their special moment in time was captured forever. I did find a bit about France when I was researching that, but I honestly ignored it because that wasn’t what I was going for. Your research does sound like a fun project! Do you tag your photos and list alternate text? I’m not sure about how well it works on a blog, but I know when I designed my studio website, that brought my Google ranking up a LOT in a short amount of time.

                Liked by 1 person

                • When I lived in Germany and was touring Europe (in 1976 and 1977), I wanted to take better photos than just snapshots, so I bought a Minolta SLR, a telephoto lens, a couple of filters (daylight and polarizing), lens hood, tripod, remote cable, and a couple of photography manuals. It had a hot shoe on top, but although I never invested in a flash or lighting equipment, I learned to be good enough using the built-in meter with high-speed film, the aperture and exposure settings, to get decent indoor shots with available lighting, as well as excellent landscapes. Unfortunately the AGFA processing in Germany made prints that faded over time.

                  The Minolta was the only camera I used for 30 years, and it needed service once (after about 20 years). Several years ago, my youngest son got interested in photography, so I gave him the whole outfit. He does a lot of digital, and uses the Minolta for special art stuff. He acquired a small antique camera a while ago (I can’t recall what kind). It has its film spindles and appears to be in working condition, but the film and its processing are prohibitively expensive. My mad scientist uncle had his own darkroom, and I think my sister once dabbled in developing (she had a Canon SLR that weighed a ton) but I don’t think my son is planning to invest in that part of the hobby.

                  The majority of the illustrations I use in my blogs come from the web, and most of them come from Wikimedia, so they link to their origins. I’ve put alternate text on some of my own illustrations (captions, too), but have never tagged them.

                  Like

Light A Fire Here:

