Treats in the Trenches?

Read on, to get an old family recipe for the best butter cookies you ever made a hearty meal from: gauffrettes!

The Passions of Patriots: A Novel ~ Christine Plouvier, Indie Author

My father’s ancestors came from Nord, Pas-de-Calais, and Belgium. His grandparents had already emigrated by the time the Great War started, but the extended families they left behind were large, so I’m sure there were both soldiers and civilians of my blood who suffered through the hostilities.

Families on both sides of the war were keen to support their loved ones who had gone to fight, and as a veteran myself, I can testify to the importance of letters and packages from the folks back home. I can imagine that there may have been quite a few boxes of these delicious treats that made their way to lonely – and hungry – French and Belgian soldiers at the front.

gauffs

Gauffrettes (also called “galettes”) are butter cookies that are made in Belgium and northeastern France. They travel well, and would keep a long time – if they had a chance!

This is my father’s mother’s recipe, but her mother-in-law…

View original post 164 more words

3 Comments

Filed under recipes, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Treats in the Trenches?

  1. I’ve never heard of a gauffrette iron, but those sound delicious! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • When I lived in Germany and visited France with some friends, we stopped at a French mom & pop store out in the country, to get snacks. I bought all they had. You can get packaged pizzelles here, but I think they’re kind of thin and skimpy, compared to gauffs. But I was raised on gauffs, so I’m prejudiced. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Light A Fire Here:

