Thank You, Philo T. Farnsworth!

When it comes to computer monitors, there is nothing like a cathode ray tube:

  • Bright, true colors
  • Crisp contrast
  • Sharp resolution
  • Easy-to-clean glass surface

I tried using a flat screen LCD monitor for more than six months, but today I got my old CRT hooked up again to the Holstein Frisian. My visual disabilities mean I will never be able to read a book from any screen, but on a cathode ray tube I can work, without strain, on graphics small sections of text.

This serviceable old servant helped launch my independent publishing career: it’s the same screen upon which I arranged the elements of a self-help manual for my health education clients, back at the turn of the century – the screen that revealed Irish Firebrands to me between February, 2009 and January 2012 – the screen that got me started writing The Passions of Patriots and Once Burnt, Twice Blind.

Welcome back, old friend. We’re in business again.

And thanks again, Mr. Farnsworth, for the invention that made possible my vocation as an Indie Author.

Philo_T_Farnsworth

Philo Taylor Farnsworth (1906 – 1971)

A native of Idaho who later built a career in Fort Wayne, Indiana, he used the 19th-century concept of the cathode ray tube to develop the first successful television screen. The adoptive Hoosier successfully fought off the efforts of RCA Victor to steal his invention, although the advent of the Second World War prevented his profiting from the manufacture of television sets before his patent expired. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Light A Fire Here:

