Naming Characters: The Gory Details.

IRISH FIREBRANDS: A Novel ~ and Other Works by Christine Plouvier, Indie Author

200px-Hello_my_name_is_sticker.svg

A novelist usually adds a disclaimer to the book, to the effect that this work of fiction in no way represents real people, but a coincidence associated with naming characters can get too close for comfort.

At about 65,000 words into writing IrishFirebrands, I had to give the names of the male main character and a significant secondary to minor characters, because that’s when I stumbled across the recent obituaries of two real persons whom I’d never known existed: one possessed the surname I’d given to the main character, and the other had the forename I’d given to the secondary. Moreover, the real persons had had the very sameoccupations as my fictional characters, and both had achieved regional fame during their lives. I was determined not to change my characters’ careers, so the names had to go.

Then, providentially, I ran across an interesting historical personage (long since dead) whose last name I attached to the male MC for…

View original post 302 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Uncategorized

Light A Fire Here:

