Dealing with Difficult Characters.

IRISH FIREBRANDS: A Novel ~ and Other Works by Christine Plouvier, Indie Author

Irish_Firebrands_Cover_smallAs an “organic” or “pantser” writer, I was surprised by most of what happened in IrishFirebrands, especially every time that Medb McManus showed up. She’s the embodiment of some of the social controversies that are hotly contested in contemporary Ireland. As such, she was an extremely difficult character to write about. So you can imagine my astonishment the day that I realized she would be the central character of the sequel! (The rest of the related stories all go back in time.)

Frank Halligan was another challenging character. At first I didn’t like him, and I avoided finishing scenes he was in. When I finally faced up to asking why he behaved the way he did, the answer I got made me think, “Oh, wow, no wonder!” I still don’t like how he acted, but now I understand where he’s coming from, and that has helped me feel empathy…

View original post 397 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Uncategorized

Light A Fire Here:

