Not Your Mother’s Mills & Boon.

IRISH FIREBRANDS: A Novel ~ and Other Works by Christine Plouvier, Indie Author

(1876)_A_collection_of_Valentines_ancient_and_modern_-_01I’ve never read a Harlequin or Mills & Boon romance, and it’s approaching forty years since I read anything by Eleanor Hibbert (alias Victoria Holt, Jean Plaidy, et al.). In addition, I’ve spent most of that interval reading and writing scientific and medical non-fiction. That’s why, when I began writing IrishFirebrands, I was amused by how easily that writing melodramatic language flowed (later on, I discovered that’s how many Irish journalists write, but that’s another story).

My selection of the Contemporary Romance genre for the initial publication of the book was a decision by default. Confronted by the woefully inadequate BISAC publishing category options, I figured that IrishFirebrands was probably most like a Boomer-Lit take on the will-they-won’t-they, boy-meets-girl, so that’s what I went with (BISAC doesn’t include a Fusion Fiction classification for novels that cross a half-dozen genre lines).

A baker’s dozen of thorny topics are woven within the story (listed in no…

View original post 211 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Uncategorized

Light A Fire Here:

