Aren’t You A Novelist?

Irish_Firebrands_Cover_smallSure am.

Irish Firebrands is my first novel. It took almost three weeks shy of three years to write, and after about fifteen months of editing and beta-proofreadiing, I published it four years ago.

I have two more novels in the works: The Passions of Patriots (a historical prelude) and Once Burnt, Twice Blind (a sequel).

But if you’re a novelist, what’s up with all the non-fiction books you’ve been putting out?

bb1 new front coverbbv2-front-coverbbv3-front-cover-marblebird-life-ca-cover_copyawca-cover-web-copyautograpshs-cover1

I’ve been very ill for about two years, with diseases and treatments that have affected my ability to write fiction. But I still feel the urge to be creative, which is another way of saying, “That’s where the Muse has led me.” Because writing non-fiction is not as demanding as writing fiction (I was writing non-fiction for many years before I started writing novels), these different kinds of books have been a way to use my creativity as a form of occupational therapy – and get the Muse off my back!

But isn’t this blog supposed to be about your novel, and being a novelist?

Although my blog has predominantly featured posts analyzing the many facets of the creative writing process that brought Irish Firebrands into the world, a lot of my posts also discuss the calling of a Writer as an Artist, and the nature of being an Indie Author. Both of these roles are founded on self-determination, which means that we as Writer Artists and Indie Authors embrace our freedom to create the kind of Art that best communicates our messages, and that we exercise our rights to control its production and publication in the Art Marketplace. Therefore, I publish posts about my non-fiction in support of authors who decide to mix genres in their works, or to change genres altogether.

It’s taking a long time to regain my strength, and as the medications slowly take effect, I’m finally beginning to see snippets of fictional scenes and hear scraps of dialogue again, so I hope to return to creative writing sometime this year. But for right now, as my friend, fellow blogger, and Caledonian Bard Seumas Gallacher, author of thrillers, has said about his recent decision to launch into a long-contemplated Literary Fiction novel,”it’s ‘time’ to write ‘that OTHER book’….

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Light A Fire Here:

